Darby Excellence in April

Darby’s students and teachers did some excellent work throughout April!

  Band Director Jeremy Kozman, Special education teacher Cindy Large, Business teacher Jon Boyd, Gym teacher Nathan Geers, and Officer Jon Gleason received the “Walk of Gratitude”, a thank you from the district for promoting the best in students.   

On the first of April, Jared Ball took second place at Flonationals. Jacob Cover, Ben Brown, and Tai Bloch also competed.

  The Varsity baseball team defeated Scioto 4-0 on the tenth. Their record on the 22nd was 16-3, after defeating Clinton Massie.

  Nine of the overall 29 students who were induced into the National Technical Honors Society at Tolles were students from Darby. Students in tally found out they were getting inducted when a member of NTHS ‘tapped’ them by pinning a ribbon to them.  

 Seniors who have maintained a 4.0 or above for their entire high school career were honored on the 12th with breakfast.  

  Girl’s lacrosse beat Delaware on the 13th and  defeated Dublin Scioto in overtime on the 11th.

Image taken by Kiera Toliver

  At the Fulton Relay in Lancaster on the 21st. the girls received first place and the boys placed second. The girls were also the Elk Relays champions, winning by six points. Both the Girls’ and Boys’ teams were the Panther Invite Champions, held here at Darby.

  On the 22nd, Varsity softball beat both Upper Arlington and DeSales. Junior Kaitlyn Bowman, #7,  had a home run against Thomas Worthington on the 13th, contributing to their win of 18-0.

  On the 23rd, Rahul Manne and Zahra Khuhro were awarded Runners Up at the Regional Oratorical contest held in Brunswick, Ohio.

  The marching band’s field commanders next year were chosen after an audition process. Izzy Manchea and Whitney Cope will be leading the band during their performances next year!

  Hilliard Optimist honorees were Seniors Kali Apelt, Brad Brinkerhoff, and Luke Morris received the Youth Appreciation Award from Hilliard Optimist.

  Juniors Samantha Blake and Holly Wintering won the AAA Teen Driving/Traffic Safety Poster Program for their design work.

   Varsity Boy’s volleyball competed against Moeller, 2nd in the state, and Westerville South, who is 6th in the state on the 22nd. They were both swept by the Darby boys.

  On the 26th, science teacher Richard Schute was recognized by the Hilliard Alumni Association for Educator of Excellence.

  Seniors Elise Gebhart, Jenny Dorsey, Erin Kowalski, and Junior Samantha Connors were honored at the Ohio Capital Conference Art Awards on the 27th.

The Clay Cats were winners of the 2017 Feats of Clay Competition. The nine members of the team brought the trophy home in their Dia de los Muertos gear.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *