Boys win OCC title for 2nd straight year


Photo taken by Nick Kallis

It took a total team effort on the Boys’ Cross Country team to bring home their second straight OCC championship. The top 7 runners all earned OCC honors.

Head coach Mark Tremayne said, “I credit any success to our guys cultivating a culture of positivity, high expectations, accountability and family. These results are a byproduct of developing life skills and a positive attitude that happen to be applicable to running.”

Danny Reynolds and Spencer Strohm both earned first team OCC. Strohm’s time of 15:43.83 is a top 5 time in Darby history (Danny is already second all time)
Ellis Farson earned 2nd team all-OCC honors and placed himself on Darby’s top 10 record board as well with a time of 16:03.
Zach Farrell was also second team all OCC with a time of 16:20.
Grant Akers, Jayson Shoemaker, and Josh Baldridge all earned honorable mention all-OCC honors finishing 15, 16th, and 18th.
This was also the boys’ second time winning the OCC open race. In the open race, the runners finished 1-7 for a perfect score of 15. This group was lead by Senior Gage Akers who ran a time of 17:03. The next finishers in order were : Eric Ingram, Dan Durkin, Dominic Iosue, Brian Pettit, Owen Martin, and Eric Lowery.

Tremayne concluded, “Our seniors spoke during our Thursday meeting and they sent messages that revolved around brotherhood, family, mindset, growth and embracing struggle.  Their messages confirmed to us, as coaches, that we are achieving our goal of developing young men into leaders that will have a far reaching impact on our world.”


Information courtesy of Head Coach Mark Tremayne and Assistant Coach Matt Fox

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *